top of page

What's In A Name?

Choosing a blog name was a struggle that I wouldn’t put on my worst enemy; there’s levels to this! Every since my mother bought our first desktop computer, I’ve hated creating screen names. I created my first email address at 12 years old, prematurely choosing one based off my favorite cartoon character. Almost 12 years later, I still occupy that immature email address due to my dislike for drastic change, along with four more various social and personal accounts.

Creating ratchet screen names is a guilty pleasure no one wants to admit too, and you laugh or wince every time you tell your friends to follow you via social networks. I was cursed with constantly creating corny screen names the moment I made my first BlackPlanet account; it didn’t stop there. I obsessed over what to call myself when I dance battled, especially once So You Think You Can Dance aired. I guess you can say I was trying to “brand” myself before I was aware it was a thing.

I ran through ridiculous chat room, message board, and social networking names until I found Twitter. It wasn’t until I created my Twitter account, Ohtwiddlesticks, that I actually enjoyed something I named. It just made sense to me, not to mention it helped spark a few conversations once I entered college. Twiddlesticks became my nick name on campus, and I eventually earned ‘Dancing Machine’ from being the life of too many college parties. So, why AFROvocative?

My hair became a conversation piece that I didn’t plan for once I went natural in 2010, which helped me find my voice as a young black female. I felt that it made me likeable, and even funny according to some. My Afro gave me a new edge, and most importantly it is provocative. I named my afro Sasha, because she is every bit of fierce.

Recent Post:
Talk To Me:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
bottom of page